The University of Nottingham
  

Research Projects

Our research is focused on Time & Frequency Standards, measurement of Inertial Forces, and Field Sensing. Our network comprises a range of complementary research projects, which we grouped here by their role in the innovation process of future technology: Concepts, Technologies, and Applications. Most of these projects offer the opportunity for young researchers to join our efforts as PhD students (Early Stage Researchers). Three of the projects are open to Experienced Researchers (one in each group).


Concepts

Strontium

Optical strontium clock

University of Birmingham

Contact: Kai Bongs

E-mail: k.bongs@bham.ac.uk

Optical Resonator

Ytterbium lattice clock

University of Hamburg

Contact:Christoph Becker

E-mail: cbecker@physnet.uni-hamburg.de

Guidedmatterwave

Guided matterwave Sagnac interferometer

IESL-FORTH

Contact:Wolf von Klitzing

E-mail: wvk@iesl.forth.gr

Chipbased

Chip based light-atom interface

University of Nottingham

Contact: Thomas Fernholz

E-mail: Thomas.Fernholz@nottingham.ac.uk

Guidedmatterwave

Limits of TOP-TAAP traps

IESL-FORTH

Contact: Wolf von Klitzing

E-mail: wvk@iesl.forth.gr

Technologies

Designandfabrication

Design and fabrication of HC-PCF

NKTP Photonics

Contact: Christina Olausson

E-mail: cbo@nktphotonics.com

HollowCore

Hollow-core fibre based microwave clock

University of Limoges

Contact: Fetah Benabid

E-mail: f.benabid@xlim.fr

Chip-basedatomic

Chip-based, atomic surface probe

University of Nottingham

Contact: Peter Krüger

E-mail: Peter.Kruger@nottingham.ac.uk

Lasercooling

Laser cooling in hollow-core fibers

University of Limoges

Contact: Fetah Benabid

E-mail: f.benabid@xlim.fr

Long-distance

Long distance atom guiding in hollow-core fibers

University of Hamburg

Contact: Patrick Windpassinger

E-mail: pwindpas@physik.uni-hamburg.de

BlueWave

Specialized laser systems

Toptica

Contact: Juergen Stuhler

E-mail: juergen.stuhler@toptica.com

 

  Atom-chipstructures

Atom chip structures on membranes

IBM

Contact: Leo Gross

E-mail: LGR@zurich.ibm.com

Applications

Plane

Superconducting gravity sensing

ARKeX

Contact: Jeremy White

E-mail: jeremy.white@arkex.com

Frequencystandards

Integrated, fiber-based frequency standards

DFM

Contact: Jan Hald

E-mail: jha@dfm.dtu.dk

Mobileatomic

Mobile atomic gravity gradiometer

University of Birmingham

Contact: Kai Bongs

E-mail: k.bongs@bham.ac.uk

 

QTea coordination:

School of Physics & Astronomy, University Park, Nottingham NG7 2RD, UK
Email: thomas.fernholz@nottingham.ac.uk